Advertisements are influencing us in a negative way;

We notice plethora of commercials everywhere these days. However, whereas some people argue that commercials have a detrimental effect on our lives, in my opinion, commercials can be rather useful for both, the companies and the viewers. The essay will elucidate on my view with examples. On one hand, commercials are criticised for being manipulating their audiences. That is to say, they persuade people to buy items that they might not really want; hence promoting wasteful expenditure. Generally this is done by casting only successful people in those advertisements, who do not really share their true opinion about the product. Moreover, as only promoting the brand becomes the main aim of the advertisements, sometimes advertisers encourage the purchase of inappropriate and unhealthy things. For example, in modern consumer society, unwary young viewers are easily swayed by captivating adverts for junk food and video games. On the other hand, adverts are the keys to modern business. Commercials act as a medium for the brands to reach out with their products to their potential buyers. Moreover, consumers would be left with limited choices in hand without the adverts. In other words, it is only when people watch ads on TV or read about them in the newspaper, they learn about the plenty of the choices available in the market. Thus, they are able to select the most appropriate thing for themselves, which also fits their budget. Furthermore, adverts these days are not less than source of entertainment. To cite an example, ‘Fevicol’, an adhesive brand displayed a fisherman successfully catching fishes by putting drops of glue on a stick. It lightens up and fills the mood of the viewers with amusement. In conclusion, I firmly opine that, although advertisements are infamous for being persuasive and misguiding the public at times, but they are indispensable tools for the modern consumer society.