A report indicated that many children between 7 and 11 spend too much time watching television and playing videos game. How does this problem affect children? What measures can be taken to control it?

Electronical entertainment has become more popular among children nowadays. A research has showed that children in the age group of 7 to 11 are consuming too much time for the new entertaining systems such as television and video games. Several problems have occurred and had direct impacts on these kids. Luckily, there are some solutions to tackle these matters. To begin with, some major issues need to be taken into serious consideration. The first one to mention is the effect on kids’ social experience. During the age between 7 and 11, it is proved that the young can develop their socializing skills faster and more effective than when they are older. However, since they are spending too much time on the indoor entertaining systems, the outdoor ones, in which kids can interact and socialize with the others, will be ignored and missed. Thus, these children are unknowingly limiting their own social skills which are quite essential for the future. The second problem is the impact on children’s health which, in this case, will be their eyesight. The longer they stare at the television or computer’s screen, the faster their eyesight degrades every day. In the long term, this could result in permanent short-sighted eyes or even blindness. Fortunately, steps can be taken to improve this situation. Firstly, parents can sign up some outdoor activities for both them and their kids. The participation of the parents will encourage the children to join. As a result, people will help their kids make new friends and develop social skills. Secondly, family’s policy could be applied to restrict the amount of time of using TV and playing video games. For example, many parents only allow kids to play video games for 1 hour a day so that the children have to find other healthier activities to skill time. This method not only helps to prevent eye’s problems but also creates new hobbies for the children. In conclusion, watching TV or playing video games too much may affect children in the age between 7 and 11 in several ways. However, there are two solutions that adults can take to address these problems.