A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. with this opinion?

It is true that people are judged based on their social status and personal wealth nowadays, and traditional values such as integrity and honesty are being forgotten. To a certain extent, I would agree with the fact that people are valued based on their wealth and status these days, but I also believe that old fashioned values still play an important part in our society. On the other hand, the advancement of technology in this digital age has led to change human’s attitude and concept. One of the reasons this development is that media encourage young people to follow the wrong role model. They are misguided by the notion that a person should be wealthy and famous to be successful. They do not care whether the person they admire has character or integrity. They are blinded by the hype surrounding these people. Not surprisingly, a study conducted by a well-known university in 2016 revealed that 75% of girls aged between 14 and 18 years would rather be like Khloe Kardashian than Madam Curie or Mother Teresa. However, the basis of being human is trust and kindness. Many things in life, the outside beauty, perfection is not the most important to the inner beauty and perfection. For instance, a vegetable at grocery store tastes bad, but high nutrient content, a book with the colourful cover page but boring and uninspiring. A beautiful woman with a perfect figure, but not a good choice for you to marry. If something on the outside has not defected, we are excited and believe it is the same on the inside. And then business people are still looking for business partners, who are reliable, can be trusted, and dependable. Therefore, it is important for adults to educate their children about these positive values because they still play an essential part in the societies. In conclusion, even though people are judged based on their wealth and social status nowadays, but I do believe that old fashioned values such as honour, respect and trust cannot be eliminated from our daily lives. Therefore we must teach our young generation about these cultures, in order for them to epitomize.