A lot of social problems can these days be related to teenagers. Some feel that this is because parents are not able to spend enough time and take care of their teenage child.

The number of teenagers impacted by social problems is on the rise. Many believe that the root cause of this is the inability of the parents to give time and support to their children. This essay will argue why despite the overhaul of social media and technology, educating children about social issues is completely the responsibility of the parents. Today’s teenagers face many social problems such as online bullying and body shaming. Some children are able to talk about them to their friends, teachers or relatives and get adequate support. There are also many social forums like support groups, grooming classes to name a few, which educates children about the current social problems and how to deal with them. For instance, schools have started to include a mandatory counselling for students of age group 12-18 years. This helps them to learn about the causes of these issues and ways to avoid them in a cordial environment. Because of these few reasons, many believe that teenagers are equipped to deal with social problems and take care of themselves. Although, children have all the required support these days, but when it comes to discussing a problem or seeking advice, they still look up to their parents. Thus, it is the duty of the parents to take time out from their schedules and support them. Moreover, parents must indulge in activities with their children and foster their hobbies. A study by Harvard University suggested that teenagers who on average spend 6-7 hours per week with their parents have 40 percent less chances to suffer from any kind of social problems. These few reasons bolster the notion that it is completely the responsibility of parents to seek time for their teenage children and take care of their mental health. To conclude, it is evident that no matter how many relatives or friends a teenager might have, nothing comes closer to spending time and talking with parents. Hence, I strongly agree that parents must put all their endeavor to spend quality time with their children and educate them about the common problems that teenagers face these days.