A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Tourism is a major revenue-generating business in today's world as more and more individuals and families prefer to spend their holidays away from their busy urban life. Although there are certain disadvantages of tourism, its wonderful advantages such as local economic development, job creation and so on eclipse the problems caused by it. Tourism comes with few specific disadvantages owing to the mix up of foreign cultures with local culture. Tourists often come with prohibited drugs and other intoxicating substances to either consume or even sell them at the places of attraction, which might create law and order problems and promote drug addiction among natives. Furthermore, foreign tourists being vulnerable, attract attention of local criminals. This tendency can lead to an increase in crime rate at popular tourist spots. The beautiful beaches of Digha, West Bengal, for instance are now having regular incidents of alcohol-abuse, murder and snatching which is tainting its reputation a lot. Given that there are few demerits of tourism, it has so many significant benefits as well to the local community. Apart from generating a lot of revenue which helps the local government, it encourage the preservation of local culture as many tourists prefer to acquaint themselves of history, language and cuisine of the tourist place. This promotes the construction of museums, local musical bands and restaurants. Additionally, tourism creates the demand for certain jobs like interpreter guides and contributes towards the growth of local hotels and shops. In the line of conclusion, tourism's advantages has a clear edge over the disadvantages. Therefore, I believe that every government should work towards development of tourism and provide adequate policing to keep the law and order issues at bay.