A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

It is true that many economies in the world these days depend heavily on revenue generated from tourism. While there are certain negative consequences of this development/phenomenon, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages. On the one hand, heavy reliance on the tourism industry can cause some disturbing problems. The first downside is the likely destruction of popular destinations. In particular, ancient buildings, temples and monuments struggle to cope with a vast amount of visitors’ traffic and get damaged. Also, the large number of tourists can cause environmental problems. For instance, when places of interest are overcrowded, natural resources often become overexploited. What’s more, the fact that tourists usually bring a lot of cash and carry valuable items such as phones, cameras, expensive handbags increases the attraction for criminals and brings with it activities like robbery and drug dealing. On the other hand, despite such issues, many benefits can be derived from the growing development of the tourism industry. Firstly, it is clear that the tourism industry can significantly boost a nation’s economy in many aspects. This can be explained by tourists’ spending on a wide range of services, including hotels, amusements, transportation, food, and medical services. Secondly, the growth of tourism also increases the level of employment by bringing new jobs. For instance, the influx of tourists results in large demand in restaurant workers, tour guides, hotel staff and employees of retail services, exhorting business owners to hire more people for these positions. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of tourism, especially in terms of increased GDP and employment rate, are greater than the drawbacks, namely destruction impact on many destinations and the environment as well as higher crime rate.