A lot of places in the word rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern word. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

In the era of globalization, the scope of tourism has increased immensely and it also plays a vital role in the development of the nation’s economy. Although travel has some dark sides, I believe that the positive aspects outnumber negative aspects. On the one hand, it is undeniable that touristy brings the positive benefits to people in both economy and infrastructure. Firstly, the travel industry plays a vital role in some countries, for example Vietnam. It not only provokes the augmentation of the national recession, but also creates a myriad of job opportunities. Because the more tourists travel, the more money is being spent on a wide range of services, namely hotel bookings, tour guide, restaurants and transportations. This results in additional income which boost in the country’s recession and novel job opening for local people such as hotel staff. Another reason is that governments will spend more money to improve infrastructure and make their countries is more attractive to tourists. On the other hand, if local governments have the correct remedies they can eliminate the dark sides of touristy. Firstly, travel can have the negative impact on the environment. It’s not only because of a large number of tourists, but also the lack of awareness and misbehaving of some tourists can due to the devastation of beautiful and historic sites. Moreover, tourists can cause the cultural erosion. Local tradition may be lost and traditional jobs and skills die out, namely farming, fishing, … Because local people are forced to work in the tourist industry. In conclusion, I believe the positive benefits of tourism overshadow the negative impacts. In addition, the disadvantages can be eliminated by the local governments if they have the ensure proper security measures and timely maintenance of tourist spots.