A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

The vegan idea that animals and humans should be treated as equal, where the former are never used to benefit the latters, is becoming popular. Conversely, some people claim that humans need to use animals either for eating or for scientific experiments. This essay is going to explain these two points of view and then give my opinion. On the one hand, animals should have the same rights than humans since they are equally important for our planet. For example, we would not survive if all the bees, tiny insects, were extinct. Hence, we should respect and love all forms of life in our universe because we depend on them. Killing an animal should be the same than killing a human being. On the other hand, humans need to eat certain substances to survive, such as protein, which is easier to obtain in large quantities by eating the meat of animals such as cows and pigs. Not mention the chemical tests that the pharmaceutical industry needs to apply on animals, for instance. Since, testing these substances in humans is illegal. For these reasons, animals are needed, otherwise our specie would be endangered. To conclude, I totally agree that animals should be employed to serve human needs as they are an asset to our lives. However, we should look after our environment and biodiversity in order to guarantee that we can continue to exploit them in the future.