A growing number of people feel animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

There is no doubt that myriads of animals have been used by human beings for different purposes such as for research, food and various other products. While some people believe that there is no harm in doing so, I would argue that such exploitations against animals should be strictly forbidden and they should also have the same right of independence as humans. On the one hand, people who believe in using animals and their by-products for various purposes might argue that it is the necessity because humans and machines are not fit for certain jobs, and therefore, using animals there to their full potential is mandatory. For instance, horses are used to carry carriages because currently we have not invented a machine which can efficiently do such work. Additionally, manpower is completely unfit for this job. To illustrate it further, rats are used for research of some medicines to see its effects on them because the probability of failing in this scenario is more. If a medicine passes this test, it is likely to work on humans. Hence, the use of some animals in some fields is inevitable. On the other hand, I opine that all living beings should be treated equally, whether humans or animals. This is because each living organism has a particular role to play on the Earth, and if an external interference is done in this natural process, it will disturb the whole cycle. For example, if a particular animal such as a lion is killed for its skin, it will lead to the extension of these species, and consequently, the entire food chain will be disrupted, which will give rise to various problems such as an increase in the number of some herbivorous animals, and ultimately there would be scarcity of foods and crops for human beings. Hence, it is best not to touch or exploit any living entity. In conclusion, while some think using animals in fields such as research is indispensable as Science has not made such progressions that it can be replaced by machines or other human beings, I firmly believe that touching natural habitat of animals can cause disturbances to the environment, and therefore should be avoided.