a/d at universities and college, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

In many places around the world, young people are choosing not to vote. This results in them missing out on opportunities to have a say in decisions that will affect their futures and a possible solution is to make voting compulsory for all people who are eligible. When young people choose not to use their right to vote, they lose out on the possibility to influence decisions that will directly impact their futures. This is because the majority of votes are being cast by people from older generations and, therefore, the political decisions made reflect the wishes and interests of these older people. For example, many young people in the UK are frustrated that they chose not to vote in 2016 in the UK referendum on whether to leave the EU because of the direct impact this decision is having on their lives now. To solve this problem, states can make it obligatory for all eligible people to vote. This would mean that more citizens would register and vote during elections as they wouldn’t want to pay any fines incurred for not doing so. For instance, in Brazil voting is compulsory for all people aged 18 – 70 and because of this young people don’t neglect this right and the demographics of voters accurately represent the demographics of Brazilian citizens and thus ensures fairer representation for voters of all ages. In conclusion, young voters neglecting their right to vote means they do not have any input regarding political decisions that will affect their lives and one possible solution is to enforce voting by making it a legal obligation.