6. Most adults believe that modern children (5-10 years old) behave worse than those in the past. What action parents should take do you think will have the most positive effect on children to help them behave better like respecting and treating others kin

We have to admit that all the three methods offered by the material are to some degree effective on helping children behave better. Yet, from my personal point of view, talking with children more have the best effect, which can be supported by the following aspects. To begin with, more communication encourages children to consciously mind and regularize their behaviors. By talking with kids more, parents guide kids to realize that just like themselves, others also want to be respected and treated kindly and they will feel sad if receiving terrible treatment, too. Therefore, when stay with their peers, kids tend to think about the consequence of their behaviors from others’ angles. In this situation, they will spontaneously avoid bad behaviors and show others their esteem and kindness. Consider about a five-year-old boy, he may sometimes say some terrible words to people, for he just dose not know what feelings that these words can bring to others. Now his father notices this and has some conversations with him. The father asks the boy to try about hearing some bed words. Definitely, the boy gets angry. ‘Bad words will also annoy other people, just like they do to you. ’, Father’s words make the boy realize that he should treat other people with goodness, just like himself wants to be treated with. Hence, the boy finally learn about how to behave well. Besides, having more conversations with kids offers parents more opportunities to teach them good behaviors. Kids are all innocent, they do wrong just because nobody tells them what is right. While talking with children, parents are aware of their thoughts, they can point out what kinds of action is not proper and show them how to behave appropriately. After seeing the samples set by their parents, children will simulate these the next time and finally master how to esteem others as well as treat others kindly. For example, a four-year-old girl likes saying out others weakness loudly. Her original purpose may not be deliberately offend others, she probably believes that this is helping others to improve themselves. Her mother notices this and spends more time having conversation with her. Arguing that directly talking about others drawbacks is impolite, the mother shows the girl how to properly show others their fault with gentle words and help them to correct it. Mother’s right doing makes the girl be aware of her mistakes, so she alters her way to behave better. Of course, limiting kids’ TV programme and monitors them more do have some effects. Yet both of these two methods can only guarantee that children will not gain something bad or do something wrong, but neither of them is able to teach kids what is the right behaviors or lead them learn about how to behave properly. These means, the seconds way is clearly more effective that the others. To summarize, by creating chances for parents to teach children and for children consciously improve their behaviors, talking with children more is obviously the best way from all the three methods.