#62 What do you want most in a friend – someone who is intelligent, or someone who has a sense of humor, or someone who is reliable? Which one of these characteristics is most important to you? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your choice.

In the contemporary era, it is argued that the personalities of the people are predefined and it is a consequence of genes they get from their parents before birth. I am personally inclined to agree with the statement that the characters of a person are passed from their parents. But, it can be altered. To begin with, the character is one, which built before birth genetically. Moreover, the personality and attitude of the people are directly linked with the genes which they obtained from their parents before birth. Also, most of the time they behave similarly as their parents and they react to different situations same as their guardians due to types of genes they gained. If a person who has an aggressive mind, then it would be highly chanced that his or her parents short tempered. To cite an example, a recent survey showed that 60% of people reacted and they possessed similar personalities as their parents had. Hence, character and nature of a person is pre-exist. However, the character of the masses can be changed through different environments, guidance and learning from the tutor. Firstly, if a single person with aggressive and loneliness may live with a happy family, then the nature of a person would definitely be improved into a better one. In addition to this, guidance and learning from teacher both are good for the people in order to alter their personalities because the recent time most of the children may successful to change personalities due to spending time in better conditions under supervision. Thus, the nature of a person can be changed through learning and distinct ambiance. To recapitulate, although some people hold the view that characters of a person are predefined but with the passage of time it can be modified through guidance.