13. It is often said “When in Rome, do as Romans do” Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

The common view is that people should embody the local culture when visiting a foreign country. Although I completely argue that the visitors should and practice the local values, this cannot be done without knowing the native language. To begin with, when a person visits another country, he/she will undoubtedly experience some interaction with the native people and their culture. As cultures around the world are held in high regards the natives, any disregard on the visitor's behalf, intentional or otherwise, will inadvertently result in a hostile reaction from the natives. Muslim women in Australia have been a target of verbal, and in some instances, physical assaults by the locals because they wear conservative costumes rather than Australian dresses. This shows that by failing to practice the local culture, visitors can encounter uncomfortable situations. Cultural understanding, however, cannot be achieved without learning the local language. Without this linguistic capability, a visitor's chances of interaction with the locals are seriously reduced, which results in less exposure to the native culture. This will inadvertently decrease the capacity of a visitor to understand and practice the local values to a bare minimum. Hence, if one desires to learn a foreign culture, he better equip himself with the local language. In conclusion, acceptance of a foreign culture, in my opinion, is of great significance when visiting another country and that cultural values cannot be grasped if one does not know the local language. It is hoped that people understand the importance of cultural harmony and linguistic understanding when visiting another country.