28/10/2017Some people believe that modern designs for schools and offices with more open spaces are necessary. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such spaces? Give your opinion.

Many aver creating offices and schools with an open space design is a necessity. Below some merits and drawbacks of the trend as well as author’s opinion will be given. On the one hand, using a design without walls has some benefits. Firstly, productivity increases because people are encouraged to cooperate and interact more by the absence of barriers. In fact, some researches demonstrate staff of companies that work in an open space design is on twenty-four percent more successful at doing their assignments than those who are exploited in classic offices. Secondly, the atmosphere of freedom and liberty is often associated with the discussed style. To exemplify, pupils that are taught in classrooms without walls easily tell educators about their problems and issues, and employees that work in spacious premises freely speak up about ways to improve their work to management. So, those are several advantages of the proposal. On the other hand, the blind implementation of the policy has some shortages. Primarily, working in open space premises may be challenging because of noise. To illustrate, often a large number of children are studying at school simultaneously and while a part of pupils is discussing homework or a piece of literature, other kids are having a formal examination and they are being distracted by the voices of their peers working nearby. The same situation may be observed at workplaces as well. Furthermore, not all folks have the same personal characteristics and some people may struggle to interact with co-workers or peers all the time. In fact, about thirty-eight percent of the total population are introverts who prefer to avoid having a deal with other too frequently. Thus, the fulfillment of the idea could have some adverse effects on studying and working processes. In my opinion, spacious offices and classrooms possess many advantages and should be used but making this design ubiquitous appears to be a mistake because of the issues discussed above.