25/10/2017 Machine translation is slower and less accurate than human translation and there is immediate or predictable likelihood of machines taking over this role for humans.

Many fear although machine translation has some shortages, it will substitute human one in the foreseen future. I disagree with this prospect and below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details. On the other hand, expecting growth of usage of computer-based translators is reasonable. Firstly, there are more than two hundred languages on the planet and the spreading globalization requires from people to communicate with one another more often than used to be. Machines may provide businesspeople and commuters with an opportunity to translate from rare tongue cheaply and quickly. Secondly, although nowadays the translation is slow and inaccurate the novel technology-artificial intelligence will alter this situation in the nearest future. The creation of AI will allow translating accurately and almost instantly. Thus, the globalization and the advancement in the AI technology will make the discussed kind of translation more ubiquitous. On the other hand, the belief machines will make a necessity to learn a foreign language obsolete is unfounded. Primarily, many decide to study a second tongue because they want to immigrate or study abroad, learning a local language is the prerequisite for starting those processes. For instance, any person who wishes become a permanent resident in Canada must pass the language exam, a similar situation may be observed in Russia, Germany, Australia, the United Kingdom. In addition, knowing several languages will be important in case of an emergency or a catastrophe, when the electricity goes off, computers do not work and cellular connection disappears. In those situations, rescue teams and first responders must know the tongue to efficiently work on the site. In other words, substituting of human translation by machine one completely is unlikely. To sum up, although computer-based translation will probably become more precise and quick in the incoming future, it will not fully take over this role for humans because the necessity to have human translators and knowing different languages will remain.