23. 10. 2017 science could help people live up to 100 or 200 years even. would that be a good or bad development?

Many believe a life-span of an average human being will keep increasing and it may become as big as two hundred years. Below advantageous and disadvantageous ramifications of the trend will be discussed and author’s opinion will be given. On the one hand, the change in discussion has some negative facets, for instance, it will probably lead to the increase in the number of elderly and senior citizens that depend on the state’s support. Consequently, the percentage of a budget that will be devoted to this part of a population will steadily grow from year to year. It means finances that otherwise could have been spent on infrastructure and science are being poured into the health-care system. Furthermore, the youth who do not have needed qualifications and experience will likely face severe problems with employment because the majority of well-paid positions will be inevitably occupied by older employees. In other words, the trend may subside the economic development and cause unrest among the unemployed young people. On the other hand, the longevity may bring many beneficial changes as well. Firstly, a more peaceful world may be expected when countries will be ruled by wiser rulers and politicians who have more life experience. Those individuals will probably avoid using brute force to steer a political process and instead will use the art of diplomacy and negotiation. Secondly, many problems that are ignored today will be addressed. To illustrate, many contemporary dwellers do not perceive the modern environmental problems as serious ones because it requires the ability to foresee the consequences of today’s decisions and folks whose life may be as long as 200 years will unavoidably get this novel point of view on the planet and become more responsible and reasonable in their actions. In my opinion, although increasing a lifespan of human beings is an ancient dream, its achieving will bring more adverse aftermaths than positive ones because the natural process of replacing old people by new ones will be violated.