22. Some people give money as gifts to friends. Others try to give a specific kind ofpresent. Which kind of gift do you prefer giving to a friend?

It is sometimes thought that all crimes can be effectively deterred by having a fixed punishment. A fixed punishment can prevent people from committing all violent crimes and save more time in court, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into consideration. Firstly, one evident benefit of having a fixed punishment is that it is a more effective deterrent when people know the exact consequences for the crime they commit. To put it another way, if a person knows for sure that he will incarcerate for long sentences in prison because he offended or harassed one of the public; he will think twice before committing an offence toward people. Secondly, having a fixed sanction would be advantageous because it means that being able to afford a good defence attorney will not affect the punishment given, which leads to greater equality among delinquents. For example, if there is no fixed penalty for each offence, an offender who killed someone need a smart defence attorney to shun death penalty. This will result in spending a lot of money and waste more time on trial. Thirdly, to prevent any corruption within the legal system affecting the punishment given, the fixed punishment is considered the best solution to face this problem. This will prevent criminals from slipping through loopholes in the law as the fixed punishment option will make sure to keep them off the streets, and society will be effectively protected as an indirect result. On the other hand, one possible problem is that not all crimes are committed under the same circumstances. In other words, a person who plans a violent offence should not receive the same punishment as someone who acts in self-defence. To illustrate, an individual who plans to kill someone should be pleaded guilty and applied the death penalty to him. But, if a person killed someone mistakenly because he acts in self-defence should not be punished because he was protecting his life. Another negative aspect is that personal circumstances, such as extreme poverty or mental health problems, ought to be taken into account. For instance, a woman in Egypt was suffering from extreme mental health issues, and one day, she set the fire to her friend’s home. As a result of her illness, the judge did not imprison her as she was not conscious when she did her felony. Furthermore, a person who has never committed a crime should not receive the same punishment as a repeat offender with a long record in prison. In conclusion, while having a fixed punishment can benefit both individuals and society, it can also lead to bias sanctions and unfair trials among criminals.