20. Many universities offer intensive courses during the summer and winter periods. Would you prefer to take an intensive course during the summer or the winter vacationperiod?

It is argued by some people that environmental protection is the responsibility of the government, while others believe that each person has an important role to play rather than the authorities. Although the government can enact legislations to protect the environment, I believe that the government cannot control the actions of everybody in an effort to preserve our surroundings. On the one hand, some people believe that since it is only the government that can enact environmental legislations, they are the only one tasked with the role of protecting the environment. Various authorities make laws in an effort to ensure the conservation of natural resources, control of pollution and prevention of environmental degrading activities such as overgrazing, deforestation and indiscriminate disposal of waste. For instance, some state authorities in Nigeria setup regulations geared towards reducing industrial waste and fine industries that fall short of these laws. This shows the impact the governments have in protecting our environment from degradation. On the other hand, some people are of the view that the government cannot oversee the activities of all their citizens. Thus, each person should be responsible for protecting the environment due to the fact that everyone can make personal efforts to protect the environment. For instance, an individual may decide to buy only biodegradable packaging items so that the environment can be conserved. Therefore, an individual has a greater impact in the effort to ensure environmental conditions that are sustainable. I support this view. In conclusion, although the government can make laws so as to protect the environment, it cannot control the activities of everyone. Therefore, I believe that everyone had a responsibility to protect the environment.