218. Your friend has to decide between a talking parrot and or a tortoise. Which pet would you advise her to choose and why?

Many people consider that awarding a longer sentence to a criminal will lessen the crime rate. However, some people think that there could be other efficient ways to reduce crime. In my opinion, it is always better to keep psychologically unstable criminals behind the bars. However, those guilty people who reflect on their mistakes should be treated differently. Firstly, all the criminals should be regularly examined by a psychologist to understand their mental behaviour. The criminals with a tendency to commit repeated crimes should get a life long sentence. These people are a threat to the society and even to themselves, as they are bound to commit the crime again, if released early. For instance, I recently read in the news that a rapist, who was released early, committed the same crime again within 24 hours of the release. However, a few people who commit crimes by mistake, and realize their wrong doing, should be given an opportunity to reform themselves. There are many ways to punish people for their crime, depending on the severity of the crime. For example, community service could be one of the options, which has widely been used in western countries, as punishment for various crimes. Moreover, making guilty people work towards the betterment of the mankind is better for the society as well as for the person. In conclusion, I would strongly say that the criminals with a negative criminal history and an unstable mind frame should be held longer in the prison. But at the same time, people who commit minor crimes and possess good behaviour should be penalized in different ways, so that they can live a respectful life later and give something back to the community.