2. There are an increasing number of people who do not know their neighbours. What causes this situation? How to solve it?

In this 21st century, people are lured by the ease of life that technologies open before them. Most of the people are not even aware of people living the next door. The myriad of reasons that foster the above-said situation along with the solutions to alienate the same are discussed herewith. First and foremost, the people of this era are more workaholic. Being a part of the consumerist society of today, they are intrigued by materialist things. To meet their greedy requirement, they work long hours. This, in turn, reduces their available time to spend with their neighbours, making them unaware about who lives next to him. For instance, in Kerala, one year back news has been reported where an old man’s dead body was found, in a house 2 weeks after his death. People nearby came to know about this, only when it started to stink. Apart from this, the emergence of various technologies also has a varied role in isolating people in the four walls. For example, iPhones and Android phones provide a platform for children to play online games. This reduces the interest in children for playing outdoor games, which was one platform through which the children of yesteryears got to know about each other. The solutions for this problem are not simple and steps should be taken in a war-footing primarily, the government should ensure that employees may it be private or public sector employees are working not more 9 hours each day. Strict rules and regulations should be laid to ensure the same. Awareness talks and sessions should be hosted to make people aware of the importance of forming and maintaining a relationship with neighbours. Parents should take the onus, to keep a check on the time, children spend on mobile phones. In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate that the workaholic behaviour exhibited by people and the rapid emergence of technologies has resulted in the increasing number of people who do not know their neighbours. Laying proper rules and regulation from the part of government, along with various awareness classes can reduce these to an extent. The role of parents to refrain to children from overusing mobile phones also add to the above.