2. It was suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh advantages?

There has been tremendous changes in the lifestyle of individuals. The purchasing power of people has increased in the recent times and, the want towards material things such as owning a car, television and fridge has also increased. Although, this want to help in making the life of an individual more convenient, it also has various disadvantages. In my view, the advantages overweight the disadvantages. There are two main disadvantages of people's inclination towards buying appliances. The first one being, with the availability of these appliances, it makes the individual more lazy and lethargic. People nowadays, are more dependent on the usage of these appliances and have been ignoring any physical exercise. To illustrate, people use extensive use of vehicles, which reduces their physical activity. This could lead to various health issues such as, obesity. In addition, people tend to become more materialistic. People watch a lot of tv or use mobiles. This could have an adverse effect on their family relations, as they spend minimum time with their family and they are more engrossed in watching television. However, when individuals can afford all these things, it means the economy of that country is growing. People's purchasing power has increased, and there is more surplus money for them to spend on things apart from their basic necessities. Furthermore, the usage of these appliances has made the life of an individual more convenient. People now can easily commute long distances to their work, people are also able to relieve their stress by watching television. The development of technology has been beneficial for the whole society. To conclude, people will have trend to become more materialistic in today's world as they need to buy the latest automobiles and appliances has increased. However, this has more advantages as it adds convenience to a person's day to day life. Furthermore, an increase in the purchasing power of individuals is a positive sign for the nation.