18. 09. 2017 Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Today the volume of products and services purchased by people has reached new heights. Many aver that this trend rather mirrors effectiveness of advertising than needs of those who bought the goods. I completely agree with this prospect and below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details. To begin with, advertisement is undoubtedly a true engine of today’s economy. Firstly, a research carried out by the Economist demonstrates that there is a direct correlation between the amount of money spend on promotion of goods and the size of sales. In other words, the more company or firm spends on commercials and other types of advertisement, the higher sales are. Secondly, the incredible efficiency is apparently a result of a shameless usage of scientific knowledge in promoting stuff. For instance, creators of TV commercials routinely exploit psychological, biological and physiological knowledge to manipulate viewers’ emotions, feelings, motives and consequently behavior. Thus, advertisement is an unquestionably efficient tool of increasing sales. At the same time, those skyrocketing sales do not reflect people’s true needs. Primarily, there are a lot of urgent issues that cannot be satisfied with wasting financial resources of things and services. For instance, there are many growing problems such as gender inequality, environmental and traffic ones that are not solved or alleviated via purchasing novel smartphones, automobiles, electronics or clothes. Moreover, there are necessities that are exploited in commercials but not satisfied by the advertised goods. For example, a commercial may imply that if a person buys an advertised new laptop, he will get women’s attention and people’s respect but in reality paying money for the computer will not bring the expected result. Thus, high sales do not reflect real needs of society. To sum up, the discussed trend seems to be created by the might of advertisement and not by real wants of society.