14. Whoever control the media also control opinion and attitude of the people and then is a little that can be done to rectify this.

In the contemporary era, people are living in an environment with full of media. It is believed by some people that the owners of media can affect citizens' attitude and opinion via manipulating the content broadcasted on air and there is little for ordinary citizens to do to correct it.  I personally disagree with that and the essay will discuss about my disagreement. Firstly, although media tycoons have the capacity to manipulate the content broadcasted on their TV stations or magazines, the people are individual creatures and possess personal values. Their personal values and attitudes are nurtured mainly by their cultures, family backgrounds, and education they receive. For example, in China, news and entertainment shows are required to be inspected by the Chinese government in order to control the thought of Chinese citizens. However, people there remain striking to seek for their freedom and liberty without being affected by the broadcasted content. In addition, there are countless of tycoons in the press worldwide. It is a fact that the views from tycoons are sometimes various, especially regarding to controversial topics. This distinctive view might create debates among readers or audiences. Once the readers or audiences are well-educated, it is difficult to rectify personal opinions in terms of their background and education level. As a result, they might discard the negative message from the tycoons which are against their personal values or wills. Therefore, it is difficult for the press to manipulate citizens, especially the well-educated ones. In conclusion, media tycoons have their capacities to control the broadcasted content. However, it is a tough task for them to manipulate people's thoughts or views because people have their own personal values and attitudes, especially well- educated scholars. Therefore, providing education to citizens since young age will promote strong individual views and will not be affe