11. A sociology class requires that students expose themselves to day-to-day work in a local social service agency. To do this, students can choose to volunteer at one specific agency, or they can choose to visit two or three agencies and write up their o

The percentage of severe crimes have reduced in some of the nations. However, even then the public has lost a sense of safety. This is due to the lack of security and excess focus of the media on criminality. The solutions to this problem is that the government must enforce proper security measures and regulate the media to stop over-coverage of crime-related news. The main cause of fear among people linked with crime is the absence of the safety measures in the country. Despite of the decrease in crime rates, people no longer feel safe. This is because, unfortunately, in some countries the authorities have failed to create an impression of safety, which has rooted anxiety in the minds of the masses. Another major element behind this problem is the overexposure of criminal acts by the media in order to gain high-ratings on their channels. Sadly, such reports shown to people repetitively have only increased panic in the society, therefore, people feel less safe than before. The most efficient solutions to this issue is the addition of surveillance cameras in the streets, shopping centres and all the public areas by the authorities to spot any unlawful act right away. This way, citizens will sense safety in their lives. For instance, In the UAE, for 24 hour security of citizens every public place has cameras monitored by the police to constantly keep an eye on the criminal acts. Secondly, the government should impose a law on the news media, not to showcase previous criminal reports frequently on television, social media and newspapers, which is only adding angst among the public. For example, if the media will broadcast the positive side of the society, it will impact positively on the minds of the people. To conclude, in order to make the citizens feel safe and sound in their country, the government and the media must take necessary actions to keep the people live fear-free and secure life.