53. A sociology class requires that students expose themselves to day-to-day work in a local social service agency. To do this, students can choose to volunteer atone specific agency, or they can choose to visit two or three agencies and write uptheir obs

The question of what to prioritize for guiding young, innocent children in schools has been hotly debated over the last half century, with some believing that more focus should be paid to history rather than other subjects. While there are strong arguments on both sides of the discussion, I strongly agree that science and technology are of greater importance. One the one hand, those who support teaching historical information and events cite various benefits that the subject can bring to a child. These range from getting insight of the past to building up patriotism. For instance, if young teenagers were raised without knowing much about their homeland, they could end up at showing no respect or appreciation to their ancestors who had previously worked so hard or even fought bravely to protect their country from outside enemies. By giving lectures and teaching materials involved in what happened to a well-known, historic place, a teacher can thus secure positive attitudes toward a nation among his students, as well as encourage them to continue to protect their country. However, I tend to side with those who say that teaching students about scientific or technological knowledge is far better than showing them monotonous dates and past events. In this fast-growing world, the advance of technology has transformed the way that a man works and lives, from learning something new to paying the bills. If a pupil, for example, were not taught how to use a computer or access information through the Internet, I do believe that this kid would grow up with more disadvantages or even lack of opportunities to find a decent job, especially in today’s highly competitive employment market. Another argument for this viewpoint is that modern humans are suffering from tragic diseases like AIDS or cancer, and increasing unpredictable natural disasters like tsunamis or droughts. Therefore, paying higher attention to researching and teaching in such areas is in fact a security for the future of all human beings. In conclusion, I can understand the undeniable role of history in a child’s education, but it seems to me that the fields of science and technology are indeed more necessary in terms of job hunting or carrying out scientific researches.