Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give financial support to local film industries?

These days, film industries develop faster and faster, and some are prone to watch foreign films rather than locally produced ones. There are several reasons why this is the case, and I maintain that governments should promote the local film industry by subsidizing to mitigate this bias. There are two justifiable reasons why some have a tendency to watch overseas films. In the first place, foreign films are invested lots of salary by governments or sponsors and used cutting-edge technologies. There are a myriad of blockbusters of foreign film industries used latest technologies such as computer animation or special effects in order to attract filmgoers. In addition, these films are made by professional film crews, and filmmakers also expend a great deal of money for marketing. That explains why foreign films can take audiences by storm. In the second place, films from other countries, especially developed ones have outstanding plots. A case in point is that Cinderella of the Walt Disney Company conveys a meaningful message: have courage and be kind, which inspires many people and helps them learn tolerance and cherish life. In my view, Authorities should improve the local produced films by giving financial support for two main reasons. A first point is that thanks to governments’ backing, local film crews can enhance the quality of movies before releasing them to the public. For example, if film producers have money, they can apply technologies in order to create better effects such as visual and sound ones. Besides, they can pay money for professional actors and actresses in their country or foreign states. Another perceived ground is to cooperate with foreign film industries. With the financial backing of the governments, filmmakers or casts will have a chance to expose to the talented directors, producers, actors, actresses, etc. In other countries, so they can improve plots and acting skills. To sum up, there are some reasons that explain why some prefer to watch foreign films, and governments should support wealth in order to improve the locally produced film so as to cater to audiences and compete with a broad motion picture industry.