101. What change in your character have you had that was important in changing you from a child to an adult? Be sure to explain how/why this change has helped you to become an adult.

It is argued that secondary education should not be available for those who do not enter the workforce in countries with high rate of unemployment. I strongly disagree with this statement because education is not the cause of unemployment and the other purposes of education besides vocational aim. First of all, education does not cause unemployment. , but lack of education does. It is obvious that population in developed countries is well-educated and they are the driving force of the countries’ growth. By contrast, those who do not have access to school often lack essential and desirable knowledge and skills to be able to compete in the job market. This could result in an increasing number of between-jobs people in society. In addition, there are different factors affecting the jobless rate of a country such as economic recession, poor governance, development of technology and mismatch of demand and supply of the job market. For instance, the utilisation of robots in some segments like manufacturing and hospitality has posed a threat of losing jobs to their workers. Secondly, the aim of education is more fundamental than simply to prepare young people for the world of work. Secondary education provides people with know-how and life skills such as collaboration, communication and critical thinking. Besides, it also helps shape personalities and allows students to discover themselves through various activities. To illustrate, one might figure out he loves music and wants to be a musician in the future by attending in the school’s choir. Additionally, educated people who have been taught about the moral qualities such as honesty, tolerance, freedom and so on are less prone to commit crimes. Therefore, besides vocational aim, education has a more significant purpose which is to help individuals grow as a person and become responsible members of their society. To summarise, there is no point in denying that secondary education in particular and education in general play an important role in the development of a country. Not only does it provide employment opportunities to individuals, but it also makes a person civilized and knowledgeable.