1 Some people think watching TV is bad for children while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children

It is often argued that watching television exerts pernicious impacts upon youngsters. In my opinion, however, I strongly believe that the advantages of watching television far outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, it cannot be denied that watching TV has some negative consequences. Firstly, watching TV too long is detrimental for children’s health. To be more specific, it can lead to such problems as: fatigue, eye strain and obesity. Secondly, some programs even include sexual and violent images which are inappropriate for adolescents to watch. Exposure to such kinds of contents on the screen can put them at a higher risk of copying the behavior. Finally, advertisers direct their marketing at children so they are more likely to put their parents under pressure to buy useless commodity on TV. On the other hand, I think that TV plays a vital role in children development. In fact, it is one of the favorite ways to wind down after a hard day at school, which helps a lot in escaping from stress and resulting in higher efficiency at schools. Furthermore, watching different kinds of shows broadens youngsters’ horizons and provides them with limitless knowledge in reality life. For instance, Planet Earth and Discovery Channel not only take the viewers into unknown natural habitats which are home to various flora and fauna but also educate them about the importance of preserving the wonders of the Earth. In conclusion, although many people think that watching TV is harmful, I personally reckon that it brings more benefits to children.