1 Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting a culture

The early stage of a child's life is an important formative period where they find themselves between two options. Thus, making the right choice is an integral part of life. Whilst other are of the view that children should not be disciplined, I strongly believe that punishment is a vital ingredient in their development in the society. On the one hand, children are good imitators. That is, they are capable of replicating the things they see around them effectively. For instance, fathers who are left-handed tend to have sons or daughter who use their left hand like their fathers. Since they only produce what they observe, the best way to lead them between good and evil decision is to be good ambassadors. Therefore, we see ourselves in them. On the other hand, I do not believe that the aforementioned views stand to scrutiny. To correct the ward with the rod is a better option. That is to say, when strokes of the cane are applied, it implies that the child had done something that warrants correction. The Punch Newspaper revealed a survey carried out in Ghana in 1990, that wards who were punished using the cane made better choices when faced with circumstances that brought the discipline as compared to those who were not. This is particularly important because the pains of the rod created a memory that lasted a long time. Hence, they are better in decision making. In conclusion, parents and teachers should be allowed to beat erring younger ones in order to instill the right behaviour in them. This is not only for the present, but for the future.