1. Choose one of the following transportation vehicles and explain why you think it has changed people’s lives: automobilesbicycles airplanes Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Climate change, a major threat to life on Earth, is caused mainly by our imprudent actions. The temperature rise, in particular, is a troubling issue that has been preoccupying many across the globe. This essay will discuss some of the ruthless actions of men, which contribute to the global warming and put forward several solutions to overcome the same. Global warming is primarily a problem of too much carbon dioxide (CO2) in the atmosphere resulting in the greenhouse effect. This carbon overload, in turn, is caused mainly by burning of fossil fuels which are used to generate electricity, and as fuel for our vehicles. Furthermore, tropical deforestation, also by human hands, is another major contributor to global warming. When these forests are burned illegally for deforestation, immense amount of carbon is further released into the atmosphere which cannot be absorbed by the trees as the forests are gone. Nevertheless, there are various measures that both governments and individuals could take to prevent or at least mitigate, global warming. As individuals, we should try to limit our contribution to the surging global temperature by becoming more energy efficient. We should use zero-carbon footprint transportations such cycle more often besides commuting by public transportations whenever possible. The government, on the other hand, should phase out fossil fuel dependency and rev up on renewable energy as the source of energy. Therefore, renewable resources such as sunlight and wind should be harnessed to provide 'clean energy'. Scotland, for example, generated a whopping 98% of this year energy requirement using wind turbines and aims to be 100% fossil-fuel free by 2020. In conclusion, higher world temperature is mainly due to our greedy act of extreme deforestation and fossil fuel consumption. Nonetheless, the consequence of raising global temperature should be delayed, halted or even reversed, by switching over to renewable energy sources and being energy-efficient at individual-level, before time runs out.