01/10/2017 Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

Many agree the advancement of big supermarkets drives small companies out of business. The trend is believed may have an adverse influence on local communities. I disagree with the prospect and the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details below. On the one hand, the appearance of big department stores in a neighborhood may be seen as an omen. Firstly, disappearing of small firms that are unable to compete with the giants means there is less money in a local budget; thus, the government cannot finance many social programs that used to help maintain local communities’ well-being. Secondly, places owned by local entrepreneurs often attract public that may interact with one another and learn about gossips, while buying something or being served. If those places are closed, it means fewer interactions between locals and thus the death of the community. Those are several adverse consequences of the trend. On the other hand, the closure of small businesses may not have a disadvantageous effect. Primarily, the advent of big companies may rather revitalize a neighborhood because many well-established businesses often invest heavily in improving local communities. For example, OSHA that is a Russian chain of department stores usually constructs a park with a playground nearby their novel stores to attract families who may combine visiting the store with playing in the park. Furthermore, the existence of a community is usually based on living on the same territory and having similar interests. Thus, those who share the passion to pets, reading books or repairing cars will continue to communicate with each other even if all local businesses suddenly disappear. Consequently, the life of community will last. In other words, the death of local companies doesn’t necessarily lead to the death of community that used to host them. In conclusion, the claim the closure of small firms may destroy local communities appears to be unsound because communities are held by similar interests. Moreover, the advent of big malls may improve the life in the neighborhood.