Zoos have no useful purpose. Do you agree or disagree?

There are so many people who enjoy going to zoos. Critics will argue that this kind of attraction causes an enormous number of problems to animals. Therefore, some people believe that zoos and enclosing animals there have no useful purpose. Personally, I partly share the same view. On the one hand, there are many beneficial functions, which can be led by zoos. Not only do zoos support breeding programmes in order to protect endangered animals, but also provide a safe environment for animals which have been mistreated or threatened in nature habitats. For example, in the wild, some of the rarest species suffer in finding mates and breeding, therefore international breeding programmes have been developed specially for them. Also, important researches can be carried out in zoos. For instance, through zoos researches can make an useful contribution to subjects like animal behaviour and how to treat illnesses. In addition, zoos haм a large potential to educate people about conservation issues and inspire the public to protect animals. On the other hand, drawbacks of zoos are quite enough. There is no guarantee that every zoo is well managed and there is a big risk that specialists can mistreat the animals which can lead to costly mistakes. For example, it might be very difficult to hold wild animals in zoos, despite the fact that they can be endangered species, for them zoos need to create an artificial secure environment in order to produce a false impression and calm down. Otherwise, zoos' visitors can be seriously injured by them and not only do wild animals cause danger, but also zoos can be threatening to them too. A lot of animals in zoos crave freedom and there is no guarantee that after breeding programmes animals will be released into the wild. Most of these animals are often sold not only to other zoos but also to hunting ranches. It is unfair and very brutal to the animals. In conclusion, the benefits and harmful effects of zoos are equal. In my opinion, it depends on how individual zoos are well managed and the main purpose of them to keep animals.