Zoos are sometimes seen as necessary but not poor alternatives to a natural environment. Discuss some of the arguments for and against keeping animals in zoos.

Zoos have been amusing and educating humans about animals for centuries. Although, containment of animals in zoos is an increasingly controversial topic. Some argue that confining animals to their cages in zoos are both necessary and healthy, while others refute this. Both sides of this debate will be analysed in this essay before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. On one hand, many believe that keeping animals inside the contrived environment of a zoo is a way to save many species from going extinct. For example, the Auckland Zoo has many breeding programs in place to enable animals to mate and reproduce. These animals might not be able to find mating partners in the wild and hence their species could be wiped out. This example makes it clear why many people support this stance. On the contrary, many argue that the practice of keeping animals in a zoo is harmful to these primates. For instance, a recent survey found out that animals in the zoo in Karachi, Pakistan, were fed toxic substances by the visitors which had an adverse effect on the health of many animals. As this example illustrates, animals in zoos can be abused if proper safety measures are not employed. Hence, it is obvious why this point of view has garnered support. After looking at both sides of this argument, it is felt that keeping animals in zoos begets greater benefits than disadvantages as long as there are precautionary measures in place to ensure the safety of these animals. It is hoped that zoos will continue to keep endangered species from going extinct.