NOWADAYS MANY PEOPLE PREFER TO USE THEIR OWN CARS TO COMMUTE RATHER THAN BUSES AND TRAINS. WHYDO YOU THINK IT IS HAPPENING? WHAT CAN GOVERNMENT DO TO CHANGE IT?

Transport plays a pivotal role in one's life in terms of convience. Therefore, it is due to this very reason that people prefer to use private modes of commute as opposed to public ones. Luxury, ease, comfort and time management are a few of the many reasons why people choose their own vehicles. Furthermore, it allows one to plans the travel or time taken to reach the destination according to one's preference. For instance, a train from Bangalore to Goa is a one stop terminus travel, however, if one alternatively chooses own transport, the likelihood of stopping got local shopping, eateries and enjoying en route places like Mangalore is much higher and conducive. Not only this, but also the option of resting in between destinations or having no particular time restrictions makes the journey more appealing. Though it seems self sufficient to use ones own mediums, there is no denying the repercussions of this in terms of pollution and traffic congestion which is an environmental hazard. Government needs to intervene in such situations by making public modes of transport more lucrative and easily accessible. This can be done by providing certain incentives to travellers using public modes or ensuring that there are adequate automobiles for the ever increasing population available at shorter intervals of time. For example, introduction of metro has made commute much more enjoyable by taking into consideration the luxury aspect i. e. air conditioning, shorter time spent (high speed) and also budget friendly by pricing the tickets at reasonable cost. This has attracted more people to use the subways and ditch private vehicles. In conclusion, though private transport is more convenient, considering the long term environmental aspect, people should opt for government vehicles.