Zoos are one of the many attractions, whether you're a tourist or a local in the community, that many visit regularly.

Zoos are one of the many attractions, whether you're a tourist or a local in the community, that many visit regularly. While it's an institution that allows people to see wild animals in real life, it's also a facility that some consider barbaric and needless to have. I would argue, however, and explain in this essay that zoos are beneficial both to the animals and to the visitors alike. As earlier alluded, I would argue that zoos are one of the many institutions that promote animal welfare. While it may seem that zoos have animals in cruel captivity, they are also the ones providing food, shelter, medicine, and a home of their own. These animals are domesticated already and are unfit to live back in the wild, and without zoos, they will just die and probably become at risk of extinction in the future. An ape, for instance, who's been in captivity all his life, will never survive when brought back to his natural habitat. Undoubtedly, these institutions are built with agenda to nurture and tame the beast. Additionally, without zoos, there won't be an opportunity for people to learn these species live in action. Although television and books illustrate how animals look, the experience pales in comparison to being in front of wildlife. The grace of how a shark swims will never be accurately captured with mere images and videos. Additionally, it's just impossible for most to go underwater and swim side-by-side with this monster. They offer a lens and an avenue to this realm that will be impossible to experience without the availability of zoos. Hence, these parks allow visitors to experience the wild, just a few meters away. They are wild, some are predators, and some are considered beasts, but zoos are there to train them, guide them, and nurture them. There are many reasons why Zoos exist and should continue to be so, and indeed, as they offer desirable outcomes, such as animal welfare and wildlife experience for visitors.