While many government put extra focus on economic development, many people think that other types of progress are also necessary for the betterment of a country

People have different views about how governments should measure their countries progress. While economic progress is of course essential, I agree with those who believe that other measures of progress are just as important. There are three key reasons. Firstly, a healthy economic results in job creation, a high level of employment and better salaries for all citizens. Secondly, economic progress ensures that more money is available for government to spend on infrastructure and public services. For example, a government with higher revenues can invest in the country's transport network, its education system and its hospitals. Finally, a strong economy can help a country's standing on the global stage, in terms of its political influence and trading power. However, I would argue that various other forms of progress are just as significant as the economic factor mentioned above. In particular, we should consider the area of social justice, human rights, equality and a democracy itself. For example, the treatment of minority groups is often seen as a reflection of the molar standards and level of development of a society. Perhaps another key consideration when judging the natural environment, and whether it is moving towards environmental sustainability. Alternatively, the success of nation could be measured by looking at the health, well being and happiness of its residents. In conclusion, the economy is obviously a key maker of a country's success, but social, environmental and health criteria are equally significant