You’ve received a survey from the city council asking you to indicate your preference regarding two approaches to tackling the mosquito issues during the summer. Option A – Release dragonflies – they will eat the mosquitoes thereby controlling the population. Option B – Pour chemicals into the standing water where mosquitos breed, thereby killing the larvae

Having lots of large fearless mosquitoes all over our city during the summer is causing many of our residents to stay at home. However, while getting rid of mosquitoes is a top priority, contaminating the environment is an unacceptable side effect. I think that releasing dragonflies would be the most environmentally friendly solution as they would efficiently cull the mosquito population without adding chemicals. Since the beginning of the summer, many people, including my children, have assumed unhealthy sedentary lifestyles rather than the active healthy lives typically associated with the summer months. The fear of being bitten by jumbo-sized mosquitoes keeps them inside sitting motionless in front of movies and computer games. We have tried several natural mosquito repellents including spraying the liquid from boiled garlic, growing lavender, and emptying standing water, but nothing has worked. Although a more drastic solution is required, using chemicals could potentially contaminate our water sources and adversely affect both the community and the environment. Dragonflies offer an eco-friendlier solution. Hopefully, after weighing up the serious consequences of chemicals and the advantages of using dragonflies for both residents and the environment, you will decide to use dragonflies to resolve our mosquito issue.