Your school is phasing out paper textbooks in favour of electronic textbooks. Some students are against this idea. Write an article for a school blog explaining the impact of this policy and your opinion about it.

Electronic textbooks instead of paper textbooks Textbooks play a major role in students’ life because they read and study with it. Thanks to textbooks students can broaden their horizons and study more productively than sitting in front of a computer or a phone. Our schools decided to phase out paper textbooks in favor of electronic textbooks. However, this new policy is not without its critics. One argument in favor of electronic textbooks is that students like the fact that they do not need to carry a bag full of books, instead they have their books on their electronic devices like phones, computers and tablets. Over the past few years, there have been many occasions that students haul around copious books which are of great weight and hard to lift as a consequence students having back problems. Moreover, online textbooks give to students the opportunity to use a plethora of tools such as copy and paste, adjust font sizes, etc. On the other hand, 76 percent of students object to that if they had the opportunity, they would choose printed books over an electronic textbook. An important benefit of paper textbooks is that students are less likely to get distracted. Students who use e-books tent to loose their attention more easily not necessarily because they can surf on the internet but because of the fact that students and generally people who read book on digital forms are reading slower and spend more time to process information. In addition, paper textbooks are easier on the eye. Normally, when someone reads an eBook he gets tired because of looking too much time at a screen. All things considered, I am in favor of paper textbooks because the benefits far outweigh the disadvantages. I believe that normal textbooks should not get replaced by electronic textbooks considering that printed books benefit students in many ways.