Your opinion about banning smoking in public places

These days, a number of countries all over the world has decided to ban smoking in public places. In other words, they don’t allow smokers to smoke in places such as bus station, airports, restaurants, etc. some people believe that it is a positive step. However, there are some people who consider it as a harmful action. I agree with the first group, and I am going to describe my opinion in this essay with details. The first reason for supporting this decision is People‘s health. It is evident that if somebody smokes in a public place, he or she influences other people‘s health. Therefore, smoking in public places should be banned, in ordered to prevent respiratory diseases since children and elderly‘s immune system is really weak against such illnesses. Having said that, there are some inconsiderate individuals who drop their cigarettes after smoking wherever they want, which is dangerous for the nature and environment that should be protected for other generations as well. As a consequence, some special places like smoking rooms force people to use ashtrays or trashcans. On the other hand, there are some groups who consider smoking prohibition as an excessive rule, which is useless, since they do not think that smoking could be harmful. In addition, they say forbidding smoking can increase people‘s attitude to alcohol and some other drugs. To sum up, banning people from smoking in public places has both pros and cons, and it is obvious that this law has some fans and also protesters who have different perspectives. Considering both sides of the issue, I am in favor of the first group opinion. That is to say, advantages of this rule outweigh its drawbacks.