Your most favorite korean side dish

Being a person who loves to eat spicy food and being a Korean drama lover, I take fancy to Korean food. Before this pandemic crisis, I would always eat out at Yoogane, which is my favorite Korean restaurant but when this pandemic befalls on us, I couldn’t go out anymore and also ordering food would be a bit risky so I started watching recipes on Youtube and IGTV. I’ve never cooked a particular meal until this covid so I don’t have that much confidence in this whole cooking thing. I’ve tried one or two appetizers in my life and it never ever turn out to be delicious. As cooking is a basic skill of life, I decided to set up a notch. The first ever dish that was made by me is ‘Yangnyeong’ chicken which is a seasoned chicken. Next, i tried my favorite dish, Bibimbap which is Korean rice dish. The term ‘bibim’ derived from Korean word ‘bibi’ which has the meaning of ‘mixing’ and ‘bap’ which literally means ‘rice’. Just as the meaning, this dish is a mixture of rice and other ingredients. It takes a lot of work since we have to mix rice with assorted vegetables, meat and fiery spicy sauce. Each ingredient has different cooking styles and takes different time. When they all come together, it makes a very moreish one bowl meal. To begin with, I soak the vegetables in a salted warm water. I personally use this technique with every vegetables to get rid of ascaris eggs and other things which may harm our delicate stomach and intestines. First, I take the main ingredient, soybean sprouts and put them into a saucier with water and some salt to my preference. Leave it for 20minutes over medium heat. These soybean sprouts add delicious crunch to this dish. The second essential side dish is spinach. I blanch with cold water and season with garlic, sesame oil and salt. After this two main ingredients, I slice carrots and zucchini into thin matchsticks and sprinkle with salt. Koreans also add cucumber as a side dish but I don’t like its crispy flavor. In my point of view, that crispy flavor doesn’t really go well with the texture of others. Next, I chopped green onions to sprinkle over the bibimbap. You can also add shitake mushrooms. After I’ve finished preparing vegetables, it’s time for the next primary ingredient to come into spotlight! ‘Bulgogi’, which literally means ‘fire meat’. Again, I slice the raw beef into thin matchsticks and marinate with lots of garlic, honey, soy sauce and sesame oil. As soon as ingredients are seasoned, all were fried and placed on the platter. Reaching the final step, I put rice into a nice pretty bowl and place all the sautéed ingredients, sunny-side-up egg and gochujang onto rice. The dish is ready to serve! I often eat this whenever I’m stressed or when I feel like eating Korean food. Sometimes, I eat a minimized version of Bibimbap as the whole process takes 2-3 hours. That minimized version of bibimbap only includes fried egg, meat, carrot and gochujang. Bibimbap is a whole package of nutrients. You can get fibers, proteins, carbs and fats in just one bowl meal. Each ingredient is slightly seasoned before it’s added, highlighting the unique flavor and texture! This bowl meal will make everyone fall in love with it. For me, without question, bibimbap is a bowl food at its best!