Your first time away from home

Home itself is a word with a very strong definition that quite differs from a house, Home is a place of utmost comfort, familiar faces, and loved ones around with each wall emphasizing the history of your stay at this very place. On the other hand, House is just an emotionless word that defines to a place/property owned or rented for accommodation. Eventually, being surrounded by the same people every hour of each day might make one frustrated or crave for privacy, but to one’s surprise, only a few hours of residing away from family makes us homesick. I have stayed with my parents always, if not with one of my family members or closed ones. But October of 2018 was the first time I ever had to stay away from my home and the knowledge of the fact that I won’t be visiting home anytime sooner than a couple of months added to the burden. I had to sign up in a Paying Guest Cottage (well known as P. G. in India) in order to live closer to my college during midterm exams. The P. G. was just on the other side of my college’s premises. It was a small 10x12 feet room with two beds and a joint washroom, which I fortunately got to share with my classmate itself. The rent was very much in sync with my budget. The day I arrived at the P. G. with all my necessary belongings can be clearly pictured in my head. I greeted the landlord at the ground floor as she brought me some snacks and water to my room. Although I kept myself busy with arranging my belongings from the very beginning that I entered my room, subconsciously I was only trying to delay the realization of me being away from home for the first time. Initially, I was very excited by the thought of this change in my residence which would save me hours of travelling to college each day, but only a few hours later did I realize that I already was missing my room and how my belongings were perfectly arranged as per my taste. When I first ordered my lunch, I already started missing the home-cooked food that I dined with my parents every day. Even though it took me almost a week to adapt to my new residence, it was a very unique experience staying away from home and only made me better and more aware of things that needed t be taken care of at home.