Young people who commit serious crimes, such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults.

It is argued that the same level of punishment should be imposed on juvenile delinquents as well as adult offenders if they commit serious crimes. I completely disagree with this view. Some people may support this suggestion on the ground that all the citizens, regardless of their age, should be treated equally before the law, but I think this argument is flawed. It is true that the level of punishment is supposed to be decided upon how much damage the offender has done to other citizens and the society as a whole. The legal justice seems to be undermined if young people and adults are given different sentences when it comes to the same offence. However, young people are too immature to be regarded as citizens who can be fully responsible for their conduct, especially their misbehavior. Since young people are denied the rights that are exclusively enjoyed by adults such as drinking, smoking, and voting, it is unfair to completely apply adults’ rules to them when they commit crimes. Furthermore, young people should be given more chances to better themselves because they have more years ahead of them. Adult criminals, who has established mindsets that pose a grave threat to society, should be punished strictly. Young people, by contrast, are malleable enough to redress their values and reintegrate into society. If they receive more rehabilitation than punishment as a consequence of their criminal behavior, they are more likely to become good citizens than their adult equivalents. To conclude, it is not justified to punish young offenders the same way to penalize adult ones, and I believe young people should be allowed more opportunities to make a difference in their later lives.