Young people who commit crimes should be punished in the same way as adults.

Some people have an opinion that the youngsters in case of committing a crime have to be punished on the same basis as adults. I partly agree with this notion because today many children commit severe crimes and definitely must be responsible to the fullest extent of the law. First, I strongly believe that people who commit serious and brutal crimes such as homicide and torture should be punished respectively without consideration of the criminal’s age. This is because these kinds of people should realize that there will be serious consequences if they commit a serious crime. Unfortunately, today some adolescences or even younger children are sure that they will not be sentenced for a whole period due to their age. Thus, if the law is equally strict for adults and the youth committing capital offences, it will play the role of a deterrent. However, from point of you, in cases of minor crimes such as stealing young people should not be punished in the same way as adults. The main reason is that being sentenced to jail children will probably get seriously involved in criminal activity due to interactions with hardened criminals. Thus, it would be much better to punish them by serving community services, which would help them to see another side of the coin. For example, helping elderlies or doing other social valued activities young offenders have the opportunity to see that kind and friendly relationships are more important for happy and prosperous life than material things. In conclusion, I somehow agree that young offenders should be treated by law as adult lawbreakers, especially in the case of felonies. Meanwhile, in terms of petty crimes, punishment should take into consideration a person’s age.