People have different views about whether it is more important to be strong mentally than physically to achieve success in sports. While I accept that no sportsperson can reach the top without mental qualities of determination and dedication, I believe that the basic for success must be physical strength.

People have different views about whether it is more important to be strong mentally than physically to achieve success in sports. While I accept that no sportsperson can reach the top without mental qualities of determination and dedication, I believe that the basic for success must be physical strength. On the one hand, all sports trainers recognized that mental strength is necessary to success. Firstly, it is difficult for sportsman to compete with other or even to win in any sport because of lacking of necessary motivation, which is essential factor to help them work hard and eventually leading to succeed. Spending many hours of training in the gym, for example, may be repetitive and boring and ambitious athletes need to motivation to stay focused on their goals. Secondly, in any sport there will always be disappointments and failures, and mental strength plays crucial role in overcoming these challenges and leading to achieve one’ goals. In particular, in the world of professional sport, where news coverage places too much value on sport, it is impossible to have a laid- back attitude and still succeed. On the other hand, I still believe that physical strength must be the basic of all success in sport for several reasons. The first reason is that muscle strength and key skills such as stamina, flexibility, endurance and agility can enhance the ability to perform general sport skills such as jumping or sprinting in the majority of sports. For example, competitive swimmers or runners must have brute strength to adjust their pace during different stages of the game to maintain their position or take the lead. Additionally, most elite athletes are cautions and well-prepared in exercising and eating to build muscle. The reason is that physical toughness helps them avoid injuries during training or competition, which means that their sporting career might be ruined by injuries. In other words, being in good physical condition ensures their continuity in athletic performance. In conclusion, both physical and mental strength are important in sports performance, but I believe that it is impossible to succeed without being physically strong.