Young people spent to much money on expensive fashion brands and gadget these day, many of which are not necessary

In this day and age, overconsumption is a controversial problem, especially with young generations when they are buying too many expensive unnecessary goods and products from big brands. Although some people could deny that this might bring the world a variety of advantages, some still believe that it is an enormous problem. This essay will discuss why overconsumption in young generations is a crux and the actual state. First and foremost, fortunes and brands are often used by the elite as a form of status symbol amongst their friends and the middle class. Expensive goods also reflect their job, salary, or their position in society. These people consider expensive products as their personal value, or to identify themselves. As the result, people ended up trading numerous amounts of merchandise that causes them a fortune. Secondly, shopping or owning things could be found as an intoxicating activity, or a stress-relief method by anyone, especially the top class. The feeling of having something, or consuming goods somehow could help people cope with stress or depression. Furthermore, some of them are also dealing with mental illnesses such as shopaholics or CBD. Compulsive buying is one of their symptoms. They cannot stop consuming, buying things until they feel satisfied with the amount of shopping bags they have got. On the other hand, fast fashion trends, expensive products, or gadgets are sometimes a way for young people to enjoy their youth since we only live once. Big brands products such as Gucci clothes, shoes, or handbags could also be a big inspiration for young fashion designers. In addition, some people could spend a fortune on shopping, but can still provide themselves and their family a good life. For instance: people need higher quality phones to utilize up-to-date technology and functions, this would also mean that people need to pay a higher price for new products. In short, brand names and goods are considered as status- symbols for prosperous people. It is also a form of stress relief method to help people cope with depressions, mental illness. However, they are contributing to the problems of over consumption and climate change in our world