Young people should not decide on their future career.

In today's world, the competition is fierce in the work settings and unemployment has seemingly been on an upward trajectory in many countries. There are mixed opinions about choosing future careers when it comes to youngsters. It is commonly believed that young people should be at complete liberty when they opt for their prospective professions. However, some argue that they need to be more realistic about their future vocations. From my personal vantage point, although the young generation should be given the freedom of choice, they should consider this issue more realistically. It is argued that the young generation is entitled to make decisions about their future jobs due to several reasons. Firstly, it sounds awkward to deprive the youth of their absolute right of freedom of choice in the modern world. That is to say, young people should develop independence and autonomy by deciding for themselves and pursuing their dream careers. Nonetheless, critics approve of educating the young to be more realistic about their competencies and abilities. In other words, not having adequate knowledge and capability in doing a job would leave them with reduced productivity which consequently leads to disappointment and failure. For instance, in some developing countries, many college graduates decide to study popular fields regardless of the fact that whether they are academically and psychologically the right fit for that subject. Similarly, based on independent studies carried out in Iranian universities, majority of students were allured by the current trend to major in a particular subject without taking their capacities into account. In my opinion, although the young should be given the opportunity to have a vote in some aspects of their personal lives, their awareness should be raised in order for them to know their innate preferences and abilities and to minimize the possibility of failure after they are recruited in an organization. In conclusion, despite the valid objectives in favor of entitling the youth to select their upcoming careers on their own, I concur with the second argument that meticulous evaluation of each individual's capabilities should be given precedence to unreal assumptions about oneself prior to seeking a career. Otherwise, it will end up in daunting challenges for the young workforce.