Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Driving skills have become significantly important in the modern era, as more number of people have started commuting to different places for distinctive purposes. A person is not allowed to drive vehicles unless he attains n age of 18 and have a valid driving license. But, whether it must be mandatory for a person to take their driving exam every 5 years or not. There are both pros and cons for this and it would be discussed in further paragraphs. To commence with the merits, first and foremost is it will enhance their driving skills and they will be more cautious while travelling to different places by their own vehicles. They will take more safety and precautive measures as they have the fear that their license might get suspended. Moreover, they will also follow the traffic rules. Most of the individuals often forget about different signboards and indication of traffic lights after a long time. Therefore, by making the test compulsory, they will be more aware of these. Apart from it, sometimes due to health issues some people are unable to drive in an efficient manner especially older ones, as a consequence, to know the ability of a person to drive it must be obligatory for everyone to reappear for the driving test every 5 years. For an instance, in India, driving license is only provided to those who passes the driving test and hase an age of 18 and above and they need to renew their license after 5 years as it gets expired by then. On the other hand, despite having positive outcomes, there are some negative consequences too. Firstly, it will hinder their work life. By this I mean, most of the people are busy due to their hectic schedule and by retaking the exam again they feel that it is merely a waste of time because getting a driving license is quite a lengthy process. As first they need to clear their written test only then they can appear for their driving test. Secondly, some people will also bribe money to higher authorities in order to get their license as quickly as possible because the do not want to indulge in this tedious activity. As a result, instead of following the right path they commit crime by bribing. To conclude, although a school of thought opines that reappearing for driving exam is useless as it is waste ones' time, in my perspective, however, there are more advantages to this as one can upgrade their driving skills and have more knowledge about different signs and traffic lights.