Young people nowadays are eating a lot of fast food. Therefore, some people believe that schools should include healthy nutrition lessons to help youngsters learn healthy eating habits. While there are interesting arguments for both sides of the debate, I support that kids should learn about healthy nutrition and diet as part of the school curriculum.

On the one hand, it is not ideal to outsource all issues in raising kids to schools. Preferably, families and parents should teach their children about good eating habits from an early age. There are plenty of studies that prove how learning to eat plenty of vegetables, fruit and fiber from an early age can reduce the possibility of suffering from some severe health issues later in life, such as diabetes and heart conditions. At the same time, guiding youngsters to eat a healthy and balanced diet may not always be possible due to the many responsibilities parents have nowadays. For example, when both parents work, there might not always be time to shop for fresh ingredients, let alone cook healthy meals. As a result, a trip to the fast-food chain quickly becomes an easy, albeit unhealthy, routine. Therefore, to counteract the trend of opting for fast food regularly, it would be beneficial if schools could add good nutrition courses to the curriculum. In conclusion, there aren’t many convincing reasons for schools not to take healthy eating seriously and start teaching this at school. Ideally, both parents and schools should work together to teach the principles of good eating habits, either by example or by theory. As a result, society will ultimately reap the reward with fewer chronic health conditions.