It is true that many people oppose the idea that foreign language is a compulsory subject in schools.

It is true that many people oppose the idea that foreign language is a compulsory subject in schools. While it could be argued that learning new languages could be beneficial for students, I believe that it not be forced to all students in studying languages. On the one hand, it is advantageous for students to be bilingual. One the reason that it would be useful in enhancing their job opportunities in the future. Because nowadays, there are more and more international companies in Vietnam, and English or the company's local language is one of the requirements to apply for them. Another reason is that students could participate in exchange programs at overseas schools or travel to other countries. Knowing the local language could benefit to acquire new culture and assimilate knowledge easily. On the other hand, it would be argued that foreign languages should not be a compulsory subject in schools. Firstly, pupils might fail to see the point of that subject. For example, they might think that they would not use German or French in their future life so they might disturb lessons. Secondly, the school's curriculum might cover a lot of ground. Students might focus on the things that they find useful for their real-life such as science or mathematics. In conclusion, although it could be an advantage for schools to offer new languages, students should have the right to choose what they are interested in for studying