Young people don’t like competitive sports because they are afraid of losing. Therefore, we should ban all competitions in sports.

In today’s modern world, youngsters do not prefer competitive sports owing to the fact that they are afraid of being losers. While some people think that we should prohibit all competitions in these sports, I maintain that it is not necessary to eliminate the competitions among participants, as it helps young people endeavor to be the winners. On the one hand, I agree that nowadays, many teenagers have less interest in playing competitive sports because of the fear of failing. This phenomenon can be attributed to some certain reasons. The primary motive is that young people are more susceptible to negative feelings if they are left behind in a sports competition. It is true that participants are under a lot of pressure during the sport competition so becoming losers would make teenagers feel inferior to their peers, moreover, they would also constantly blame themselves even for the smallest mistakes in the competition. As a result, they would gradually lose their self-confidence and easily get some psychological issues, particularly depressive disorder. On the other hand, although those competitive sports could exert some detrimental effects on those being defeated, I maintain that it is not necessary to boycott and eliminate all competitions in sports. It is obvious that competitions could incentivise participants to have a physical exertion in order to become the first runner-up. In other words, the spirit of trying hard would bring to teenagers a plethora of advantages in the near future, especially enhancing youngsters’ physicality and preventing people from a sedentary lifestyle. As a result, young people would be much more proactive and healthier, which also means that they have more time than others to dedicate and enjoy their life. In conclusion, while competitions in sports could lead to some adverse bearing for the losers, I opine that those competitions should not be forbidden. In my opinion, the authorities should raise more funds to invest on those competitions as it is a good way to boost people’s well-being.